The 8th Annual Simon ‘Mabhunu’ Sabela KZN Film and Television Awards are set to take place virtually this year on 12 September 2020. The prestigious awards are aimed at recognising outstanding achievement and talent in the film and television industry, with a particular focus within the KwaZulu-Natal province.

The awards, named in honour of the late South African Film legend and icon Mr Simon ‘Mabhunu’ Sabela, are an initiative of the KZN Department of Economic Development, Tourism and Environmental Affairs are implemented by the KZN Film Commission will again be held during this year’s Durban International Film Festival.​

The KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission is also proud to once again partner with the Durban FilmMart (DFM) in this year’s thrilling edition. The market has been identified as one of the strategic platforms in delivering on the KZN Film Commission’s mandate to create enabling environments where local filmmakers can connect, learn and forge mutually beneficial relationships with other filmmakers from across the globe. This year the KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission, in partnership with DFM, will host a number of insightful webinars led by local and international industry professionals all with the aims of further developing and empowering local filmmakers.

The Chief Executive Officer of the KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission, Carol Coetzee, said: “KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission remains committed to creating an environment that will ensure growth and transformation in the local film industry. We take this opportunity to congratulate all those who have been nominated in the various categories and wish them the best of luck.”

The following are the nominees for 8th Simon Sabela KZN Film and Television Awards.

1. Best Newcomer Actress

2. Best Newcomer Actor

3. Best use of KZN in a Music Video (new category)

4. Best Actress

5. Best Actor

6. Best Supporting Actor

7. Best Supporting Actress

8. Best Director

9. Best Micro-Budget Film now known as Best Made for TV FIlm

10. Best Short Screenplay

11. Best Feature Screenplay

12. Best Use of KZN in a Film

13. Best Film

14. Best Short Film

15. Best IsiZulu Film

16. Best Documentary

17. Best Environmental Film

18. Best Student Film

About the KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission

The KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission is a provincial state entity, under the Department of Economic Development, Tourism and Environmental Affairs (EDTEA), in the Province of KwaZulu-Natal South Africa established in terms of the KwaZulu-Natal Commission Act, 2010 (Act No 3 of 2010). Its mandate is to facilitate support throughout the value chain to the local and international film industry through creating opportunities and growing the KwaZulu-Natal film industry.

If you would like more information about this topic, please contact:

Mr Mu Ngcolosi
Facebook: @KZNFilm
Twitter: @kznfilm
Instagram: @kznfilm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.